My Thanksgiving

That morning, I woke up to a smell that wasn't really pleasent...

The turkey in the oven caught on fire and that not just once but three times. Well, not exactly the turkey but the plastic bag around it that was supposed to be fire prove but apparetly it wasn't. Luckily it was still edible. We only had to get rid of the nasty plastic smell that made its way through the entire house. Most of it was gone before the family came. Judy's children and their families came as well as Judy's sister Sandra. Everyone brought something to eat.

At about 11.00 am we had everything ready for the brunch. We stood around the kitchen isle, took each others hands and said what we were thankful for. I really liked that part. After that everybody went around the isle and got some food. It was so nice talking to each other.

The food was really good. I made my guacamole for Thanksgiving but there was also food like baked sweet potato, sweet potato and red beets (baked together in the oven), a green salad, rolls and of course the turkey with its stuffing.

Right after we finished, we sat down in the living room and started playing a fun game called . We had so much fun.

Around 2:30 everybody left and went to other Thanksgivings that took place in other parts of the families. Kathy, Jacquie, Judy and me played board games until Bill got me and drove with his family to Heidi's mother to celebrate Thanksgiving there.

I was so happy especially when we played "Mensch-aergere-dich-nicht!", one of my most favorite games ever. Heid's mother is German. That dinner was fantastic; I even got something vegan to eat.

Adam and me. We both sat together at Judy's and have had fun.

Not to forget: This is Furkey - the fruit turkey! It was the healthiest and most delicious Turkey I ever got the chance to taste! He was gone in a jiffy!

Kathy, Alex and me brought him to life the night before ... ^^

Susan and her youngest, Josh, are doing a height comparison.

Having some family fun and taking some pictures ...

Kathy, already making plans for the adults gift exchange for Christmas...

Some family love over here, daddy and son ...

The kitchen action at Heidi's (right) mom's house.

Heidi preparing mashed potatoes.

Christina, Heidi's sister.

She is a genius in making food for special diets.

Just checkin' if I was okay with what she was going to fix for me ...

And there is the second feast for the day of thankfulness.

It was a wonderful meal!

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 2
  • #1

    Vati (Sonntag, 03 Januar 2016 07:11)

    schöner Einblick in den Familienverband, geschmückt mit schönen Bildern. Dein Truthahn ist genial gewesen. Sind schon sehr gespannt auf Deine Weihnachtserlebnisse. Fühle Dich weiter so wohl!

  • #2

    Ute (Sonntag, 03 Januar 2016 15:53)

    Schön mal wieder etwas von dir zu lesen, geschmückt mit schönen Bildern. Wir wünschen dir noch viele tolle Erlebnisse.